Who gives you the right?

Leave a comment

June 28, 2013 by Wayne Desbarres

How do you treat a cab driver, server or drive thru attendant?

I have seen it time and time again and it still amazes me how poorly people treat waiters or the poor workers at your local drive thru. Even worse is at a hockey game where the referees are young teenagers. And by people I mean adults. For some reason adults feel it is fine to berate another person.

Being a hockey coach I have seen it all too many times.

A couple of years ago we had an “away” game where the referees were seeing just one team playing – and calling all the penalties on our team. Were some warranted – yes but not all of them.

I can hear a commotion and look up into the stands. Well there is a parent losing their mind – screaming, jumping up and down, giving hand gestures and swearing. Our whole team sees what is going on including the boy who’s father is causing the ruckus. Being teenage boys they are very impressionable so they all start yelling and screaming at the referees as well. I can also tell that the “son” is embarrassed too.

During a whistle break, I call the team to the boards and chat with them about respect and proper conduct. I say let me deal with the ref, all of you focus on playing the game.

I then call the ref to the bench (for all kids to see) and quietly speak to him. I just respectfully questioned some of the calls and mention that he should watch what is happening behind the play. Not sure it helped though but that wasn’t the point.

The game continues and our bench is quiet. Unfortunately I can’t say the same for the howling parent in the stands.

So the next time you have the itching to yell and be disrespectful put on the other person’s apron, uniform or jersey and remember that your comments don’t impact you – they may have a worse effect on your son/daughter/friends or others around you. Set the right example – show some respect to someone who might be having a hard time.

Make it a respectful day!

Wayne

Leave a comment